Key themes

Market disruptions

Drivers of change

The drivers accelerating the pace of disruption are varied, particularly in a highly cost-sensitive environment.

Customers expect faster, frictionless, more secure and transparent payments. Technological progress is accelerating innovation and challenging the payments market. The competitive landscape is dynamic, more agile and outside of the existing systems. Regulatory pressures to protect data and customer rights, but also increased competition.

The following schemes have created a strategic turning point for payments and are among the broadest-ranging and most transformational in the payments ecosystem.

Open Payment: payment in the age of new mobility services

The recent widespread use of contactless technology has confirmed the usefulness of open payment, i.e. the use of contactless banking supports to access and pay for mobility services. Open payment provides a better user experience by avoiding the need to use a ticket office or terminal to buy a ticket. Open payment is a subset of a more global concept, called account-based ticketing, in which access rights to services are no longer stored on a private physical support (ticket, subscriber card), but in a centralized system, managing the banking medium as an access identifier. Numerous transport systems, particularly in Europe (London, Dijon, Lyon, etc.) have met with great success among users and are becoming a key dynamic innovation factor within local authorities.

Open Banking: catalysing payments innovation to create value

The second Payment Services Directive (PSD2), which came into force throughout Europe in 2018, paved the way for open banking. The directive requires banks to make their customers’ banking data fully available to third parties via application programming interfaces (APIs).The immediate challenge for the banks was how to adapt their information systems to open banking.

With access to this data, third parties with more flexible information systems can innovate by using new value-added services such as account aggregation, personal finance management or document management. On the payments front, the immediate impact has been on payment initiation where a payment initiation service provider (PISP) can position itself as an intermediary and initiate a payment on behalf of the customer.

Open banking has generated further momentum however, as it has catalyzed new partnerships between banks and fintechs and among banking networks. On the payments front, open banking promotes innovation and efficiency, but not without raising issues of data privacy, security and the creation of fruitful partnerships.

If you want to know more, click here to read our white paper on open banking.

EPI: European plan to transform payment infrastructure

Today, EU countries operate with their own national card schemes, and 10 European countries have national card schemes that do not accept cards from other EU countries. In order to overcome this fragmentation of the European retail payments market, in particular for point-of-sale and online payments, the European Payments Initiative (EPI) aims to create a unified European payment system by 2022. . The scope of the EPI includes all types of retail transactions such as payments in shops, online, cash withdrawals, wallets and peer-to-peer (P2P).

The EPI not only allows for intra-European cross-border payments, but also for real-time clearing and settlement based on instant payment.

To date, 16 major European banks from five countries are leading this initiative and it is expected that other payment service providers will join in.Establishing pan-European payments is an important step for Europe’s autonomy and resilience, as it reduces the dependency on non-European global players who do not necessarily act in the EU interest.

The benefits also extend to other areas such as improving customer experience, enhancing cost-effectiveness and increasing security.

Payments hybridization: a response to the challenges of European sovereignty in the field of payments

Payments hybridization, which was under consideration in companies well before the EPI, processes the card payment value chain and the SEPA credit transfer value chain under a single information service (IS) within an organization, taking the best of both payment methods.

Performance optimization is the main benefit of de-compartmentalising these payment processes.Although many companies have taken the first steps towards payments hybridization at the organizational level, IS convergence is still in transition for many of them today. Within the new EPI environment, payment hybridization is becoming a strategic priority .

The directive has accelerated the need for organizations to evolve towards dismantling payment silos. The success of such a scenario will depend on the ability of players to use the correct aspects of card payments and the emergence of SCT-IP and new services such as request-to-pay through efficient and pragmatic payment marketing (physical cards and wallet supports).

Galitt at your side

Galitt helps you address your market disruption challenges

  • Offering expert advice on digital payment to help you manage functional, organizational and economic impacts.

  • Helping you to define a European position and a promotion strategy within the framework of market initiatives (EPI).

  • Launching specific payment analyses.

  • Helping you obtain payment institution licences .

  • Guiding you through payment regulation and compliance.

  • Supporting you in defining and implementing your project in order to best meet your commercial and technical needs.

Do you have questions ? Contact us !

Remi Gitzinger Executive Vice President

Galitt – Consulting

+33 1 77 70 28 59 / + 33 6 20 66 77 40

Thématiques clés

Market disruptions

Moteurs du changement

Les moteurs du changement qui accélèrent le rythme des perturbations peuvent être variés, notamment dans un environnement particulièrement sensible aux coûts.

Les clients attendent des paiements plus rapides, sans friction, plus sûrs et plus transparents. Les progrès technologiques accélèrent l’innovation et remettent en question le marché des paiements. Le paysage concurrentiel est dynamique, plus agile et libéré des systèmes existants. La pression réglementaire augmente visant à protéger les données et les droits des clients, mais aussi une concurrence accrue.

Les initiatives ci-dessous ont créé un tournant stratégique pour les paiements, et sont parmi les plus importantes et les plus transformationnelles de l’écosystème des paiements.

Open Payment : l’ère des nouveaux services de mobilité

L’utilisation désormais massive du sans contact permet d’affirmer l’intérêt de l’Open Payment, à savoir l’utilisation des supports bancaires sans contact afin d’accéder à des services de mobilité et de les payer. L’Open Payment apporte une meilleure expérience utilisateur du fait de l’absence du besoin de se rendre à un guichet ou à une borne pour acheter un titre de transport. L’Open Payment est un sous-ensemble d’un concept plus global, nommé « Account-Based Ticketing », selon lequel les droits d’accès aux services ne sont plus logés sur un support physique privatif (billet, carte d’abonné), mais dans un système centralisé, gérant le support bancaire comme un identifiant d’accès. Les multiples initiatives notamment en Europe (Londres, Dijon, Lyon, …) rencontrent un franc succès auprès des utilisateurs et deviennent un élément essentiel de la dynamique d’innovation au sein des collectivités territoriales.

Open Banking : l'innovation au service du paiement

Entrée en vigueur à l’échelle européenne en 2018, la deuxième directive sur les services de paiement (DSP2) a ouvert la voie à l’open banking. Cette réglementation exige des banques qu’elles rendent les données bancaires de leurs clients entièrement disponibles à des tiers, via des interfaces de programmation d’applications (API).  Le défi immédiat pour les banques a été de savoir comment adapter leurs systèmes d’information à l’Open Banking. 

Grâce à l’accès à ces données, les tiers disposant de systèmes d’information plus souples peuvent innover autour de nouveaux services à valeur ajoutée tels que l’agrégation de comptes, la gestion des finances personnelles ou la gestion des documents. Sur le front des paiements, l’impact immédiat a porté sur l’initiation des paiements où un prestataire de services d’initiation des paiements (PISP) se positionne comme un intermédiaire et peut initier un paiement au nom du client.

L’impulsion donnée à l’Open Banking va cependant plus loin, car elle a catalysé de nouveaux partenariats entre les banques et les Fintechs, et même via un réseau de banques.  Sur le front des paiements, l’Open Banking favorise l’innovation et l’efficacité, mais non sans poser des problèmes de confidentialité des données, de sécurité et de création de partenariats fructueux.

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus ? Téléchargez notre livre blanc sur l’open banking

EPI : plan européen pour transformer l'infrastructure de paiement

Aujourd’hui, les pays de l’UE fonctionnent avec leurs propres systèmes de cartes nationaux, et dix pays européens ont des systèmes de cartes nationaux qui n’acceptent pas les cartes d’autres pays de l’UE.  Afin de remédier à cette fragmentation du marché européen des paiements de détail, en particulier des points de vente et des paiements en ligne, l’Initiative européenne sur les paiements (EPI) vise à créer un système de paiement européen unifié d’ici 2022. Le champ d’application de l’EPI comprend tous les types de transactions de détail telles que les paiements en magasin, en ligne, les retraits d’espèces, les portefeuilles et le Peer-to-Peer (P2P).

L’EPI permet non seulement les paiements transfrontaliers intra-européens, mais il vise également la compensation et le règlement en temps réel en s’appuyant sur le paiement instantané.

À ce jour, 16 grandes banques européennes de cinq pays sont à la tête de cette initiative et l’on s’attend à ce que d’autres prestataires de services de paiement s’y joignent.  Un paiement paneuropéen est une étape importante pour l’autonomie et la résilience de l’Europe, car il réduit la dépendance vis-à-vis des acteurs mondiaux non européens qui n’agissent pas nécessairement dans l’intérêt de l’UE. 

Les avantages s’étendent également à d’autres domaines : une meilleure expérience client, un meilleur rapport coût-efficacité et une sécurité accrue.

Hybridation des paiements : une réponse aux défis de la souveraineté européenne dans le domaine des paiements

En réflexion dans les entreprises bien avant l’EPI, l’hybridation des paiements traite la chaîne de valeur des paiements par carte et la chaîne de valeur des virements SEPA sous un seul service d’information (SI) au sein d’une organisation, en prenant le meilleur des deux moyens de paiement. 

L’optimisation des performances est le principal avantage du décloisonnement de ces processus de paiement.  De nombreuses entreprises ont fait les premiers pas vers l’hybridation des paiements sur le plan organisationnel, cependant, la convergence du SI est encore en transition pour nombre d’entre elles aujourd’hui. Avec le nouveau contexte de l’EPI, l’hybridation des paiements devient une priorité stratégique. 

En fait, l’EPI a accéléré le besoin d’évolution des organisations pour briser les silos de paiement.  Le succès d’un tel scénario dépendra de la capacité des acteurs à utiliser les bons ingrédients du paiement par carte, de l’émergence du SCT-IP et de nouveaux services comme le Request-To-Pay au travers d’un marketing des paiements efficace et pragmatique (support physique carte et wallet).

Galitt à vos côtés

Galitt vous aide à relever vos défis en matière de disruption du marché :

  • Offrir des avis d’experts du paiement digital pour vous aider à gérer les impacts fonctionnels, organisationnels et économiques.


  • Vous aider à définir une position européenne et une stratégie de promotion dans le cadre des initiatives de place (EPI).


  • Lancer des études ad hoc sur les paiements.


  • Vous aider à obtenir des agréments d’établissement de paiement.


  • Vous guider dans la réglementation et la conformité des paiements.


  • Vous soutenir dans la définition et la réalisation de votre projet afin de répondre au mieux à vos besoins commerciaux et techniques.

Vous avez des questions ? Contactez-nous !

François Gandon

Galitt – Consulting

+ 33 6 14 83 15 71